Project Management Blog

Project Management Certification Checklist

Project Management certification Checklist will take you through the process of applying for the PMP exam,taking the PMP Exam and subsequently maintaining the certification after passing



Project Management certification Checklist will take you through the process of applying for the PMP exam,taking the PMP Exam and subsequently maintaining the certification after passing.Project management is a critical practice that applies knowledge of process, skills, tools, deliverables, and techniques to project activities to ensure a solid path to project success by meeting goals and requirements in today’s business.

Project management is the discipline of using established principles, procedures and policies to successfully guide a project from conception through completion. Often abbreviated as PM, project management requires the application of those principles and procedures as well as tools and technologies to ensure that a project can be completed in a way that meets all articulated outcomes, from spending limits to end-goal objectives.

The Project Management Institute (PMI) sets forth strict eligibility requirements before you can take the PMP exam – see the current PMP eligibility requirements below. Beyond the required education and experience, Project Management Professionals pledge adherence to a code of professional conduct, and periodically satisfy continuing education requirements to keep their PMP certificate active.

PMP certification is widely recognized as the pinnacle of project management credentials by businesses and government agencies worldwide, across all industries. Several Fortune 500 companies require their PMs, managers and IT leads to be PMP certified. PMP certification is a true differentiator; project managers without a PMP are at a competitive disadvantage.

If you’re an experienced project manager looking to solidify your skills, stand out to employers and maximize your earning potential, PMP certification is the credential for you.


Project Management Certification Checklist and PMP Eligibility Requirements

The Project Management Institute requires that you meet some initial requirements before you are eligible to sit for the PMP exam.

Bachelor’s degree or global equivalent

  • Minimum three years/36 months unique non-overlapping professional project management experience
  • 4,500 hours spent leading and directing projects
  • 35 contact hours of formal project management education (satisfied by JK Michaels 4-Day PMP training course)


High school diploma, associate’s degree or global equivalent

  • Minimum five years/60 months unique non-overlapping professional project management experience
  • 7,500 hours spent leading and directing projects
  • 35 contact hours of formal project management education (satisfied by JK Michaels 4-Day PMP training course)

If you do not meet the PMP eligibility requirements, you still may qualify for PMI’s associate-level project management credential – the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) – a powerful credential in its own right and a great place to launch your PM career.

Project Management Certification Checklist:EXAM

The examination is comprised of 200 multiple-choice questions. Of the 200 questions, 175 are scored and 25 are pretest (unscored). Pretest questions are
randomly placed throughout the exam to gather statistical information to determine if they should be used in future examinations. The time allotted to
complete the computer-based (CBT) examination is four hours. CBT is the standard method of exam administration.
The following represents the percentage of questions in each domain that are included in the examination:
Initiation 13%
Planning 24%
Executing 31%
Monitoring and Controlling 25%
Closing 7%

Project Management Certification Checklist:CBT EXAM FEE

PMI Members 
Initial Examination $405
Re-Examination $275


Initial Examination $555

Re-Examination $375

Project Management Certification Checklist:PMP Credential Process


  •  Make sure you meet the credential eligibility requirements and can record the necessary information on the application. Online applications remain
    open for 90 days.
  • Once submitted, online applications are processed in 5 calendar days.
  • If your application is randomly selected for an audit, you will have 90 days to submit your audit material. PMI processes audit materials in 5-7 days.
  • Once your application has been processed and determined to be complete, you need to submit payment of the certification fee.
  • When credential payment is received (and you have successfully completed the application audit, if your application was selected) you will be sent the
    start and end dates for your eligibility period and exam scheduling instructions. The exam eligibility period is one year.
  • You have three opportunities to take and pass the PMP exam within your exam eligibility period. If you do not succeed on the third attempt, you will
    have to wait one year from the date of the last examination to reapply for the credential.
  • Your three-year certification cycle begins the day you pass the exam and are granted the PMP credential.

Project Management Certification Checklist:EXAM REPORT

Upon completion of the CBT exam, you will receive your test results. In addition to a pass/fail status, diagnostic information is provided on your
performance for each domain.
The passing score for the PMP Examination is determined by psychometric analysis. SMEs from around the globe help establish a passing point and the examination point of difficulty.

Continuing Certification Requirements Program

To maintain an active certification status, you must participate in the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program.
PMPs are required to attain no less than 60 professional development units (PDUs) during each certification/CCR cycle, and report PDUs with the online
CCR System. PDU categories fall under two divisions – Education and Giving Back to the Profession. There is no limit on the PDUs earned within a 3-
year cycle in Educational PDU categories. However, a maximum of 25 PDUs has been imposed within a 3-year cycle (for PMP®) in Giving Back to the
Profession PDU categories. Additionally, PMPs are required to complete the online Application for Renewal process, which includes reaffirming the PMI Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct and the PMI Certification Application/Renewal Agreement.
The credential renewal fee is $60 for PMI members and $150 for nonmembers.


PMI computer-based exams are available with Pearson VUE. Visit for instructions


Administered on a secure platform using proven exam delivery technology, the online exam is exactly the same as the version administered at a test center: the same quality, the same questions, and there’s even a live proctor.

The only difference? You can take it in your pajamas.

With 24/7 testing options to accommodate your schedule, you can take the exam day or night. All you need is a:

  • computer with a webcam
  • reliable internet connection
  • quiet space where you can spend a few uninterrupted hours

There’s nothing standing between you and the PMP. You’ve put in the work. Now see it pay off.

PMI Individual Membership

Individual membership is open to anyone interested in project management.
A PMI individual membership is $129/year, plus a one-time $10 application fee

Get Started

Attain Mastery,Advance your Career,maximize your potentials,increase your skillsets,expand your job opportunities,sky-rocket your business performance,increase your international marketability by subscribing to our newsletter,join our membership and attend our trainings.

This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience.